What’s So Special About Specialties

What's So Special About Specialties

Use the interactive tool below to learn about the specialties and subspecialties in which the ABMS Member Boards offer certification.

Roll over a specialty below for a definition or click to learn more

  • Allergy and Immunology
  • Anesthesiology
  • Colon and Rectal Surgery
  • Dermatology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Family Medicine
  • Internal Medicine
  • Medical Genetics and Genomics
  • Neurological Surgery
  • Neurology/Child Neurology
  • Nuclear Medicine
  • Obstetrics & Gynecology
  • Ophthalmology
  • Orthopaedic Surgery
  • Otolaryngology
  • Pathology
  • Pediatrics
  • Physical Medicine & Rehabilitation
  • Plastic Surgery
  • Preventive Medicine
  • Psychiatry
  • Radiology
  • Surgery
  • Thoracic Surgery
  • Urology

Complete listing of Board Certified specialties and subspecialties >

Every General and Subspecialty Certificate speaks volumes about commitment to quality care.

Doctors who voluntarily meet additional standards beyond basic licensing can earn Board Certification in nearly 150 specialties and subspecialties.

See the complete listing >